Shakespeare's restless world

In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction Neil MacGregor and his team at the British Museum, working together in a landmark collaboration with the Royal Shakespeare Company and the BBC, bring us twenty objects that capture the essence of Shakespeare's universe and the Tudor era of Eli...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: MacGregor, Neil, 1946-
Corporate Authors: British Museum, Royal Shakespeare Company, BBC Radio 4
Format: Book
Published: New York, New York : Viking, [2012]
Subjects and Genres:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Table of Contents:
  • Introduction: Inside the Wooden O
  • England goes global
  • Communion and conscience
  • Snacking through Shakespeare
  • Life without Elizabeth
  • Swordplay and swagger
  • Europe : triumphs of the past
  • Ireland : failures in the present
  • City life, urban strife
  • New science, old magic
  • Toil and trouble
  • Treason and plots
  • Sex and the city
  • From London to Marrakesh
  • Disguise and deception
  • The flag that failed
  • A time of change, a change of time
  • Plague and the playhouse
  • London becomes Rome
  • The theatres of cruelty
  • Shakespeare goes global.